Types and grades of diamonds


  • 1 diamond
  • 2 diamond properties
  • 3 types of diamonds
    • 3.1 The Jubilee Diamond
    • 3.2 The South African Diamond
    • 3.3 Florentine diamond
    • 3.4 The Diamond of the Shah
    • 3.5 The Clean Diamonds
    • 3.6 The Regent Diamond
  • 4 diamond grades


It is known in the English language as (Diamond), it is a type of precious stone, and its original name dates back to the word Adamas, which is a Greek word, meaning solid stone, and strong, and diamonds spread in a crystalline shape, close to the design of the triangle, and consists of a carbon element, usually it is carbon Diamonds are transparent, and light passes through it, and there are many types of it, which are distinguished by their beautiful colors, such as: blue, green, and yellow, and they are weighed depending on the carat scale, and it is one of the metals that is difficult to obtain easily, so it is fair that it is a rare metal, for this The reason is that the price for a single diamond is very high, compared to For other gemstones.

Diamond properties

Among the characteristics of diamonds are:
  • Most diamonds are found deep in the ground.
  • It can be obtained from sediments collected in river water.
  • It can be found with other minerals, such as: gold.
  • It is one of the strongest, unbreakable stones.
  • It is classified as a non-conducting stone, but produces an electrical charge.

Types of diamonds

Diamonds have a range of types, including:

The Jubilee Diamond

This diamond was discovered in the year 1895 AD, and its weight after its polishing reaches to 245 carats, and was used by Queen Victoria of England in 1897 AD, and in 1930 AD it was sold to a jewelry exhibition in London, and its color grade is classified into dark colors.

South African Diamond

It was discovered in South Africa, at the beginning of diamond exploration, and bought by an English merchant, and sold to the Jewelry Gallery in South Africa, and weighed 47.75 carats after being polished, and a wealthy woman bought it for $ 125,000.

The Florentine Diamond

It is also called the Austrian yellow diamond, it is considered one of the most beautiful diamonds in the world, it was discovered in India, and its weight after its polishing reaches 137 carats, and it is distinguished by the degree of its color that mixes the yellow and green colors, and was bought by a rich family in the city of Florence in Italy, and then acquired by the King of Austria And still present in his palace.

The Diamond of the Shah

Opinions suggest that this diamond was first discovered in India, in 1665 AD, and contains archaeological writings, especially for rulers of India, and the kings of Persia, namely: Burhan Shah, Shah Jahan, and Fath Ali Shah, and weighs after its polishing to 88 carats, and this diamond exists Today at the Kremlin in Russia.

The Kleinan Diamond

It is also called the Star of Africa, which is the largest type of diamond discovered in the world, and was discovered in South Africa, in 1905 AD, and its weight was very large compared to other types of diamonds, and was presented as a gift to the King of England, Edward VII, and this diamond was divided into several pieces And, after refinement, it weighs 2.530 carats.

Regent Diamond

It was discovered in India, in the year 1701 AD, and it was the property of the ruler of Madras, William Pete, and weighed after being refined to 140 carats, then William sold it in 1717 AD to France, but it was stolen, and France was able to retrieve it again.

Diamond grades

Diamonds are classified into groups of shades, and determine the degree of diamonds, the extent of purity in them, and the appropriate way to refine them, in order to maintain their quality, and from these degrees:
  • Grades (N - Z / K - M): It is the color diamond observed.
  • J-I grades: The diamond is semi-colorless, meaning its color is faint.
  • Grades (HG): It is semi-colorless diamond, meaning that its color is difficult to detect.
  • EF grades: It is a colorless diamond, but a very small part of its color can be revealed.
  • Grade (D): It is a colorless diamond.